Golden Bears News · MC Coaches up for Coach of the Year awards

Four Monroe Central coaches have made the ballots for IATCCC (Indiana Association of Track and Cross Country Coaches) Coach of the Year awards.

The 2017 awards will be announced soon and among the finalists are 2017 boys track coach Preston Proctor, 2017 girls track coach Pam Howell, and up for both boys and girls cross country is Ron Braun.

Proctor is among 8 Class A coaches nominated, while Howellis among 6 finalists. Braun is among 7 finalists on the boys side and among 4 finalists on the girls side.

Howell and Braun are both 2017 Monroe Central Hall of Fame inductees as well.

IATCCC Coach of the Year Criteria includes:

Cross Country Coach of the Year Nominees

The coaches from the top 2 AAA, AA, and A teams in each semi-state.

Track Coach of the Year Nominees

The coach of the top AAA, AA, and A team from each regional.

          AAA – schools 860 and up in enrollment

          AA – schools 420-860 in enrollment

          A – schools 420 and below in enrollment

School size re-evaluated each year – with one third of all the schools in each class

Nominees should also include any coach who places in the top 5 at state who was not nominated according to the above criteria.

 Good luck and congratulations to the Monroe Central coaches!