Golden Bears News · Hickory Huskers’ home hosts All-Stars tonight; Nash to play for Huskers

Knightstown’s Historic Hoosier Gym, movie home of the “Hoosiers” Hickory Huskers, is again the site

of the Hoosiers’ Reunion All-Star Classic. The 13th annual girls’ / boys’ doubleheader classic will take place tonight. The girls’ game starts at 6:00 p.m. The boys’ game follows at 8:00 p.m. The boys’ coaches are Daniel Cox (New Castle), Jerry Hoover (Blackford), Aaron Spaulding (Eastern Hancock) and Chandler Thompson (Muncie Central). Coaching the girls’ teams are Bruce Dockery (Evansville Memorial), Joe Lentz (Ben Davis), Julie Shelton (Mt. Vernon-Fortville) and Candy Wilson (Valparaiso).
The evening is highlighted by 2018 Indiana Miss Basketball Amy Dilk (17.8 ppg) of Carmel who will attend the University of Michigan. There are nine other girls who will participate that were also
selected as 2018 Indiana All-Stars— Angel Baker (21.7), Pike (Wright State) • Mackenzie Blazek (18.4),Whiteland (Illinois) • Nia Clark (16.2), Ben Davis (Miami, OH) • Katlyn Gilbert (18.5), Heritage Christian(Notre Dame) • Cassidy Hardin (17.3), Center Grove (Purdue) • Emily Kiser (21.1), Noblesville (Michigan) • Tomi Taiwo (16.4), Carmel (Iowa) • Kayana Traylor (21.4), Martinsville (Purdue) • Michaela White (15), Pike (Indiana State).
There are four other players who are committed to NCAA Division I Universities. They are Breanna Boles, Lapel (Indiana State) • Courtney Krol, Chesterton (DePaul) • Blake Smith, Carmel (Ball State) and Asia Strong, South Bend Riley (Bradley). The Girls’ game also features an IHSAA State Champion— Rachel Stewart of 2017 AA Champion Eastern (Pekin)— along with two others that were state finalist— Kyra Whitaker of 2018 AAA Runner-up Greensburg and Cali Nolot of 2017 AAA Runner-up North Harrison.
The Boys’ game, the second of this Hoosiers’ Reunion All-Star Classic doubleheader, features a future Indiana Hoosier— Robert Phinisee (29.4 ppg), McCutcheon. He is joined by a half dozen more 2018 Indiana All-Stars— Gavin Bizeau (22), Plainfield (Duquesne) • Jarron Coleman (17.2), Indianapolis Cathedral (Ball State) • Kevin Easley (19), Lawrence North (Tennessee Chattanooga) • Mekhi Lairy (26.2), Evansville Bosse (Miami, OH) • De’Avion Washington (20.7), Terre Haute South (Indiana State) and Dean Tate of 2018 AAAA State Champion Warren Central. Romeo Langford, New Albany’s 2018 Indiana Mr. Basketball, will attend the Hoosiers’ Reunion All-Star Classic as an Honorary Player, but he will NOT participate as a player in this event.
Five more boys are headed to NCAA Division I Colleges. Two were members of 2017 IHSAA State Champion teams— Jamal Harris of AAA Indianapolis Crispus Attucks (New Orleans) and Landon Weins of AA Frankton (Morehead State). The other three are Deandre Gholston, Gary 21st Century (Kent State), Jack Hansen Guerin Catholic (IUPUI) and Myja White, Brebeuf Jesuit (Miami, OH). Along with Tate, two others were 2018 IHSAA State Champions— Caleb Middlesworth of AA Oak Hill and Eli Streeval of Class A Morristown. Cole Jenkins was a 2018 AAAA Runner-up with Carmel. Morristown’s Hayden Langkabel is an Honorary Player due to injury that will prevent him from playing.
Coordinating this event are Kip Wesner, Publisher of Hoosier Basketball Magazine and Bob Garner, Events Coordinator of the Historic Hoosier Gym in Knightstown. To purchase tickets (there are only 600 seats – all reserved) call (765) 465-2569 to charge by phone or e-mail for more details.
Rosters for the boys game are below
2018 Hoosiers’ Reunion Classic Boys’ Teams
Coach Jerry Hoover, Blackford and Coach Aaron Spaulding, Eastern Hancock
Gavin Bizeau, Plainfield 6-10 Forward Duquesne
Deandre Gholston, Gary 21st Century 6-4 Wing Kent State
Luke Gohmann, Floyd Central 6-5 Forward Marian
Jack Hansen, Guerin Catholic 6-7 Forward IUPUI
JD Hoover, Blackford 6-5 Forward Undecided
Israel Nash, Monroe Central 5-11 Guard Undecided
Robert Phinisee, McCutcheon 6-1 Guard Indiana
Garrett Silcott, Connersville 5-10 Guard IU-East
Eli Streeval, Morristown 6-0 Guard Ivy Tech
Dean Tate, Warren Central 5-8 Guard Undecided
Addison True, Eastern Hancock 5-10 Guard Hanover
De’Avion Washington, Terre Haute South 6-4 Wing Indiana State
* Honorary Player – Romeo Langford, New Albany (Indiana University).
Romeo will attend the event as part of the Hickory team, but will NOT play in the game.
Coach Daniel Cox, New Castle and Coach Chandler Thompson, Muncie Central
Jarron Coleman, Indianapolis Cathedral 6-5 Wing Ball State
Kevin Easley, Lawrence North 6-7 Forward Tennessee Chattanooga
Jamal Harris, Indianapolis Crispus Attucks 6-2 Guard New Orleans
Cole Jenkins, Carmel 6-0 Guard DePauw
Mekhi Lairy, Evansville Bosse 5-10 Guard Miami (Ohio)
Caleb Middlesworth, Oak Hill 6-8 Forward Huntington
William O’Connor, Greenfield-Central 6-6 Wing IU-South Bend
Garrett Pumphrey, Cambridge City Lincoln 6-10 Forward Wittenburg
Landon Weins, Frankton 6-2 Guard Morehead State
Christian Wells. Muncie Central 6-4 Forward Undecided
Myja White, Brebeuf Jesuit 6-1 Guard Miami (Ohio)
Niah Williamson, New Castle 6-2 Guard Wabash
* Honorary Player – Hayden Langkabel, Morristown (Marian University).
Hayden will attend the event as part of the Terhune team, but is injured and will not participate.\